Limitless

This is my first movie review so I’m not sure if there’s a specific format, but I’ll give it a go anyway.

 

 

 

 

Let’s start with what is essentially a 3 part movie: hobo haired Bradley Cooper stylish and debonair Bradley Cooper

and finally, grown up and responsible Bradley Cooper.  The movie follows Mr. Cooper’s hair while other things happen in the background.  I don’t know if his hair was intentionally the main focus of the film or if it was something that just kind of happened.  Regardless, the first 30 minutes or so all I could focus on was how dirty his hair was…and I’m supposed to be a guy’s guy!  That’s obviously some nasty hair.  I kept picturing sneaking up on him with a water hose and scissors.

Something else that really stuck out to me and perhaps several other people, was that for most of the film it seemed more like an ad for adderall.  I have ADHD and wasn’t diagnosed until my late 20’s; the very first time I took the “magic pill”, it was absolutely amazing!  The world was brighter, my mind was sharper, I could focus, I cleaned a lot, my productivity at work shot through the roof and for the first time ever, I had a short term memory.  NZT-48 is adderall.  Then predictably things start going wrong, but thanks to good writing and directing, it never got boring.

Eddie Morra (Cooper) starts as a fledgling writer but after taking NZT he writes a bestseller and makes his way up in the city as a power broker.  At this point he becomes sought out by the elite CEO, Carl Van Loon (De Niro).  There are a couple sub-plots, including a Russian loan-shark, his ex-girlfriend and an unknown man following his every move; antics ensue. 

The cinematography keeps everything fresh and truly sets the tone for each scene, especially when Morra takes the wonder drug. 

I had two problems with the movie.  First: If he was so unbelievably intelligent when taking these pills, why did he constantly have to avoid trouble?  He should have been able to design some plan to keep from being bothered.  It was very frustrating until the very end at which point, most (not all) questions were answered.   I suppose that’s to keep up the suspense but whatever, it was irritating.

Second is more of a personal preference than an overall issue with the movie.  In the opening credits and at various points in the movie, the director does a shot where the camera appears to be moving forward down the street, through cars and buildings.  It’s a neat shot but all together vomit inducing to my eyes.  When I watched the movie, I got the feeling the director watched Snatch and Fight Club a few too many times; great shots but a little over done.

Cooper had a pretty good supporting cast, not exactly scene stealing like Hailee Steinfeld in the new ‘True Grit’, but sufficient enough to keep the film interesting. I was a little disappointed with De Niro, but then again, I think he’s just mailing his performances in these days.

To wrap it up, I’d say it was a pretty damn good flick.  I give it 3 ½ middle fingers up…out of 5…which is a little weird.

Comments
One Response to “Limitless”
  1. Nick says:

    This review was spot-on. As a self-identified Bradley Cooper groupie, Part 1: Hobo Bradley was a particularly painful thing to watch.

Yell back

  • The Rant Hill

    • 91,462 angry people